2018-2019 Academic Calendar

SCHEDULE OF ACADEMIC PROGRAMME AND MAJOR EVENTS FOR 2018/2019 ACADEMIC YEAR

REGULAR/WEEKEND MODULAR PROGRAMME

FIRST SEMESTER

 

Friday, 31st August, 2018

Orientation for Newly Recruited Staff (Total Quality Management)

 

Sunday, 2nd to Thursday, 6th September 2018

Students Leadership Training Workshop (Chaplaincy centre)

 

Thursday, 6th September, 2018

Continuing Students Report

Semester Registration Begins

 

Friday, 7th to Friday 14th September 2018            

Level 400 Registration and Collection of Logbooks   (Dept. of P. A. )

Saturday, 8th September, 2018

Campus Level Staff Retreat (Chaplaincy centre)

 

Monday, 10th September, 2018

Lectures Begin for Continuing Students

 

Monday 10th to 22nd September 2018

Intra Semester Clinicals for level 400 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Monday, 17th September 2018                                

Level 400 Clerkship Begins (Dept. of P. A. )

 

September, 2018

Launch of SBE Logo, Souvenir and Website

Workshop Quality Management for Staff (School of Business and Economics)

 

Friday, 28th September, 2018

Registration for the Semester Ends

 

Monday 24th September to 6th October 2018

Intra Semester Clinicals for level 300 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Thursday, 27h September, 2018

Arrival of First Year Students.

 

Friday, 28th to Saturday, 29th September, 2018

Project work Proposal Presentation (Faculty of Development Studies)

 

Monday, 1st to Friday, 26th Oct 2018          

Level 300 Intra-semester clinical attachment (APH) (Dept. of P. A. )

 

Monday, 1st to Friday, 5th October, 2018

Registration for the First Year Students

 

Monday, 1st to Friday, 5th October, 2018

Orientation Programme for Fresh Students

Personality Development Classes for Fresh Students (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

Sunday, 7th October, 2018       

Family Service: Covenant and Communion. (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

Sunday, 7th to Sunday, 14th October, 2018

Akwaaba Week Celebration (SRC, Okwahu Campus)

 

Monday 8th to 20th October 2018

Intra Semester Clinicals for level 200 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Monday, 8th October, 2018       

Lectures Begin for Level 100 students

 

Monday, 8th October, 2018       

Training for Junior Staff (Total Quality Management)

 

Monday 8th October, 2018

Chaplaincy Board meeting (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

October, 2018

Launch of SBE-Alumni Association & Annual End-of-Year Get-Together

 

Friday 12th October, 2018

Inter Departmental Seminar (Faculty of Science and Technology)

 

Friday, 12th to Saturday, 13th October, 2018

Inter Faculty Games for Students: at Agogo (Sports and Recreation Committee)

 

Sunday, 14th October, 2018

Launching of Inter-Levels Games and Sports (SRC, Okwahu Campus)

 

Friday, 26th October, 2018

Departmental Seminar (Department of Rural and Community Development)

 

Monday, 29th October to Friday, 2nd November, 2018

Mid Semester Examinations for all Continuing Students

 

November, 2018

Launch of SBE-Consultancy Service

Faculty Public Lecture (School of Business and Economics)

 

November, 2018

Staff/Students Sporting Competition – (Sports and Recreation Committee)

 

Saturday, 3rd November, 2018

12th Congregation Ceremony of the Presbyterian University College, Ghana.

 

Sunday, 4th November, 2018

Family Service: Congregational Thanksgiving (Chaplaincy Centre)

Monday, 5th to Friday. 30th Nov 2018         

Level 200 Intra-Semester Clinical Attachment (APH) (Dept. of P. A. )

 

Wednesday, 7th November to Friday, 9th November, 2018

  • Rehearsals for 15th Matriculation Ceremony
  • First Semester Revival/Mission Programme (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

Friday 9th November, 2018

Faculty Workshop (School of Business and Economics)

 

Friday, 16th November, 2018

1st Semester Faculty Academic Seminar (Faculty of Development Studies)

 

Saturday, 10th November, 2018

16th Matriculation Ceremony

 

Sunday, 11th November, 2018

Family Service: Matriculation Thanksgiving

 

Monday, 19th to Thursday 21st November 2018

End of First Semester Practical Exams for Level 400 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Monday19th to Friday, 24th November, 2018

Mid Semester Examinations for all Level 100 students

 

Monday, 22ndto Tuesday, 23rd November 2018

End of First Semester Practical Exams for Level 300 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Wednesday, 26th to 27th November 2018

End of First Semester Practical Exams for Level 200 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Friday 30th November, 2018

  • Inter Departmental Seminar (Faculty of Science and Technology)
  • Half-Night Prayer Meeting Towards Examinations (Chaplaincy Centre)

Sunday, 2nd December, 2018

Family Service (morning) & Carols Night (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

Sunday, 9th December, 2018

Hostel Visitation and Service (Chaplaincy centre)

 

Monday, 10th December, 2018

First Semester Examinations for Continuing Students Start

 

Friday, 7th December, 2018

First Faculty Lecture (Faculty of Development Studies)

 

Thursday, 20th December, 2018

End of First Semester Examinations for Continuing Students End.

 

Friday, 21st December, 2018

  • Students Depart from Campus for the Semester Break.
  • Campus Chaplaincy Committee Meetings (Campus Chaplaincy)

 

Christmas Break

Saturday, 22nd December, 2018 to Wednesday, 2nd January, 2019

 

Saturday, 22nd to Thursday 29th December, 2018

(PSICE) Presbyterian University Students in Church Evangelism (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

January, 2019

Strategic Retreat for Faculty Staff

 

January, 2019

Inter-Campus Staff games at Agogo (Sports and Recreation Committee)

 

Wednesday, 2nd to Thursday, 31st January 2019

Specialty Areas for Level 300 BSc. Nursing Students @ Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital

 

Monday, 7th to Saturday 12th January, 2019

Observation (Level 100 Nursing and P.A. Students)

 

Friday, 4th January, 2019

Arrival of Level 100 Students from Christmas Break

 

Monday, 7th January, 2019

Lectures Resume for Level 100 Students

 

Thursday, 10th January, 2019

Training workshop for Senior Staff (Total Quality Management)

 

Monday 7th to Friday, 18th January, 2019

Level 400 Psychiatric Nursing Affiliation

 

Saturday, 19th to Wednesday 30thJanuary 2019

Educational Tour Level 400 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Tuesday, 22nd January, 2019

Start of End of First Semester Examinations for Level 100 Students

 

Thursday, 24th to Friday, 25th January, 2019

Senior Members Workshop (Total Quality Management)

 

Wednesday, 30th January, 2019

End of First Semester Examinations for Level 100 Students End

 

SECOND SEMESTER

February, 2019

School of Business and Economics Alumni Practitioner Forum

 

Monday 4th to 16th February 2019

Intra Semester Clinicals for level 400 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Tuesday, 5th February, 2019

Arrival of Fresh Students (January Admissions)

 

Wednesday, 6th February, 2019

Orientation Programme for Fresh Students (January Admissions)

 

Wednesday, 6th to Saturday 10th February, 2019

Personality Development Classes for January Admitted Students (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

Thursday, 7th February, 2019

Arrival of all Students (Level 100 to 400)

 

Monday, 11th February, 2019

Registration and Lectures Begin for all Students

 

Monday 18th February to 2nd March 2019

Intra Semester Clinicals for level 300 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Friday, 22nd February, 2018

Second Faculty Lecture (Faculty of Development Studies)

 

Sunday, 24th February, 2019

Family Service

 

Wednesday, 27th Feb – Saturday, 2nd March, 2019

Faculty Week Celebrations (Faculty of Science and Technology)

 

Friday, 1st March, 2018

Half-Night Prayer Meeting (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

Friday, 1st March, 2019

Level 400 Clerkship Ends (Dept. of PA)

 

Monday, 4th to 8th March 2019                    

Pre-Defense of Project Work (Dept. of PA)

 

Monday, 4th to Saturday, 9th March 2019             

Revision for Level 400 Practical Examination (Dept. of PA)

 

Monday, 4th to Friday, 29th March 2019    

Level 200 Intra-Semester Clinical Attachment (APH) (Dept. of PA)

 

Monday 4th March to 16th March 2019

Intra Semester Clinicals for level 200 BSc. Nursing Students

 

Friday, 8th March, 2018

Registration for Semester Ends

 

Monday, 11th March to Saturday. 6th April 2019              

Level 400 Practical Examination (Dept. of PA)

 

Friday, 15th March, 2019

Department of ICT –Project Work Pre-defense

 

March, 2019

  • Business & Economics Quiz for S.H.S
  • Practical Business Model with the Business Market (School of Business and

Economics)

 

March, 2019

Presidential Walk: all Campuses (Sports and Recreation Committee)

 

Friday, 22nd March, 2019

Second Semester Faculty Academic Seminar (Faculty of Development Studies)

 

Monday 25th Sunday, 31st March, 2019

Associations’ Week Celebration (SRC, Okwahu Campus)

 

 Friday, 29th March, 2019

Inter Departmental Seminar (Faculty of Science and Technology)

 

April, 2019

  • Roundtable Discussion with the Business Professional (School of Business and Economics)
  • SBE-Colloquium for Academic Staff

 

April, 2019

PUSAG Games (Sports and Recreation Committee)

 

Saturday 30th March to Saturday, 7th April, 2019

Mid- Semester Examinations

 

Monday, 8th to Friday, 12th April 2019                

Public Health Seminar (Dept. of P. A.)

 

Monday, 8th to Sunday, 14th April, 2019

SRC Week Celebration (SRC Okwahu Campus)

 

Friday, 12th April, 2019

Departmental Seminar (Department of Rural and Community Development)

 

Thursday, 18th to Monday, 22nd April, 2019

Easter Break

 

Monday, 22nd April to Friday, 17th May 2019                   

Level 300 Intra-Semester Clinical Attachment (APH) (Dept. of P. A.)

 

Tuesday, 23rd April, 2019

Lectures Resume after the Easter Break

 

Tuesday, 23rd to Friday, 27th April 2019                

Project Work Defense (Dept. of P. A.)

 

Friday, 26th April, 2019

Faculty Colloquium (Faculty of Science and Technology)

 

Friday, 26th to Saturday, 27th April, 2019

Project work Defence (Faculty of Development Studies)

 

Friday, 26th April, 2019

End of Second Semester Examinations for Level 400 begin (KNUST Programmes)

 

Sunday 28th April to Sunday 5th May, 2019

Chaplaincy Week: Theme: Jesus, Our Foundation

 

May, 2019

School of Business and Economics Strategic Plan Round Table Meeting with Academic Staff

 

1st to 3rd May, 2019

End of Second Semester Practical Examinations for Level 400 (Nursing)

 

Friday, 3rd May, 2019

Awards and Dinner Night (SRC Okwahu Campus)

 

Saturday, 4th May, 2019

End of Second Semester Examinations for Level 400 End (KNUST Programmes)

 

6th to 7th May, 2019

End of Second Semester Practical Examination for Level 300 (Nursing)

 

8th to 9th May, 2019

End of Second Semester Practical Examination for Level 200 (Nursing)

 

Saturday, 11th May, 2019

Integrity Seminar for Graduating Students (Chaplaincy centre)

 

Sunday, 12th May, 2019

Family Service: Commendation Service for Graduating Students (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

Monday, 13th May to Friday 17th May 2019                      

Specialty Lectures (Dept. of P. A.)

 

13th to 17th May 2019

End of Second Semester Practical Examination for Level 100 (Nursing and PA)

 

Monday, 20th May, 2019

End of Second Semester Examinations Begin

 

Monday, 20th May 2019                                           

Post Clerkship Written Examination (Dept. of P. A.)

 

23rd to 27th May, 2019

Project Work Defence (Nursing)

 

Thursday, 30th May, 2019

End of Second Semester Examinations End

 

Friday, 31st May, 2019

Students Depart

 

Friday, 31st May 2019

Campus Level Chaplaincy Committee Meetings (Campus Chaplaincy)

 

Saturday, 1st to Sunday 2nd June, 2019

Inter-Campus Chaplaincy Committees Meeting & 12th LTS Planning 2019

 

Friday, 31st May to Sunday, 2nd June, 2019

Proposed Date for National Conference (Faculty of Development Studies)

 

June, 2019

Dean, SBE meeting Academic Staff on Performance

 

Monday, 3rd Saturday. 15th June 2019                   

Level 300 Practical Examination (Dept. of P. A.)

 

3rd June to 27th July 2019

Long Vacation Clinical Attachment

 

Friday, 7th June, 2019

Project Work Defense (Faculty of Science and Technology)

 

Monday, 17th to Saturday, 29th June 2019            

Level 200 Practical Examination (Dept. of P. A.)

 

Monday, 17th June to Friday, 23rd August 2019

Level 300 Clinical Attachment (Dept. of P. A.)

 

Monday, 1st July to Friday, 23rd August 2019                   

Level 200 Clinical Attachment (Dept. of P. A.)

 

July, 2019

School of Business and Economics Strategic Plan Committee Meeting on Existing and New Academic programme

 

Thursday, 11th-Friday, 12th July, 2019

Research and Publication Workshop (Faculty of Science and Technology)

Tuesday, July 30th, 2019

Chaplaincy Board Meeting to receive Annual Reports (Chaplaincy Centre)

 

August, 2019

School of Business and Economics Strategic Retreat

LONG VACATION MODULAR PROGRAMME

FIRST SEMESTER

Thursday, 5th June, 2019

Arrival of Students (Including January Students)

 

Thursday, 6th -Friday, 7th June, 2019

Registration of Semester Courses

 

Monday, 10th June, 2019

Lectures Resume

 

Wednesday 26th – Friday, 28th June, 2019

Mid Semester Examinations

 

Monday, 15th July, 2019

End of First Semester Examinations Begin

 

Friday, 19th July, 2019

End of First Semester Examinations End

 

Saturday, 20th to Tuesday, 23rd July, 2019

First Semester Break

 

 

SECOND SEMESTER

Wednesday, 25th July, 2019

Lectures begin for Second Semester

 

 Monday, 12th to Wednesday, 14th August, 2019

Mid Semester Examinations

 

Saturday24th August, 2019

End of Second Semester Examinations Begin

 

Thursday, 29th August, 2019

End of First Semester Examinations End

 

Thursday, 29th August, – Sunday, 1st September, 2019

Staff Annual Retreat

 

MAJOR EVENTS

Saturday 3rd November, 2018

12th Congregation Ceremony of the Presbyterian University College, Ghana.

 

Sunday, 4th November, 2018

Congregational Thanksgiving Service  

 

Saturday, 10th November, 2018

16th Matriculation Ceremony

 

Sunday, 11th  November, 2018   

Matriculation Thanksgiving Service

 

Sunday, 2nd December, 2018  

Carol Service

 

Thursday, 18th to Monday, 22nd April, 2019

Easter Break

 

Sunday, 12th May, 2019

Commendation Service for Graduating Students

 

PROVISIONAL CALENDAR FOR 2019/2020 ACADEMIC YEAR (2019/2020)

Wednesday, 4th September, 2019

Continuing Students Report

 

Thursday, 5th to Friday, 27th September, 2019

Registration of Courses/Programmes for Continuing Students

 

Monday, 9th September, 2019

Lectures Begin

 

Saturday, 26th October, 2019

13th Congregation Ceremony of the Presbyterian University College, Ghana.

 

Saturday, 16th November, 2019

16th Matriculation Ceremony

 

** There will be Mid-Week Service for the University Community every Wednesday, from 11:00am to 12:00 Noon.

Registrar